Shannon Development Offices

Shannon Development has relocated from its base in Shannon Town Centre to new offices at Shannon Airport.  Quinn Architects provided spatial planning advice to enable our Client to make maximum use of the available space and to create a pleasant and stimulating open plan working environment.  We also advised on furniture selection.  The move has now been completed.

Read More »

Quinn Architects enter 1916 Centenary Chapel Competition

After a few weekends of hard work, and late nights reminiscent of College times, we have just submitted our design proposal for a new Chapel at Glasnevin Cemetery, Dublin.  From the invitation for entries:   “Glasnevin Trust wishes to develop the 1916 Centenary Chapel to commemorate, in particular the 232 people who died during the 1916 Rising and who are buried in a mass grave on the site in St. Paul’s Cemetery, as well as all...

Read More »

Extension to Parteen N.S. opens

Our recent extension to Parteen N.S. opened for the start of the new Academic Year 2013-2014.  The stand-alone building replaces a number of pre-fabs with modern teaching facilities.  The design of the extension was finalised following acceptance of our earlier Masterplan for the development of School Campus and is arranged to allow for future connection to the Existing School building.  Further photos and project details to follow.

Read More »

Open House Limerick

‘OpenHouse’ is a simple but powerful concept: showcasing outstanding architecture for all to experience, completely free of charge!  OpenHouse initiatives invite everyone to explore and understand the value of a well-designed built environment.  Limerick joins a worldwide family of OpenHouse locations including London, New York, Helsinki, Melbourne, Slovenia and Irish locations Dublin and Galway.  The Limerick event includes a diverse...

Read More »

New Main Entrance to Mary Immaculate College opens to the public

The new Main Entrance to adjacent to the Foundation Building at Mary Immaculate College is now open.  The new Entrance completely replaces the earlier structure and introduces a portico structure to identify the entry to the Foyer and new Reception Area.  As part of the works, the existing Halla Building has been re-clad so that the overall composition is a collage of three stone types: Portland stone for the portico, polished red Granite for...

Read More »

Tipperary Primary Care Centre

Project Description Tipperary Primary Care Centre opened in August 2016.  The 2,800 sq.m. development by Axis Healthcare is located on prominent 0.8 hectare site next to the Civic offices and consists of HSE accommodation, a GP practice and Pharmacy.  The development includes 118 car parking spaces and set-down area for emergency vehicles. The building is organised across two stories with entrance through a three story atrium in the centre of...

Read More »

Rineanna House – Shannon

Project Description Rineanna House is a high profile, five storey office block of almost 42,000 sq. ft. which was constructed at the main entrance to the Shannon Free Zone by Shannon Development in 1982. The project involved substantial internal and external refurbishment of the building with a view to offering the property for lease as a fully refurbished next-generation building with an open plan layout adaptable for lease either on a single...

Read More »

Main Entrance – Mary Immaculate College

Project Description The new Main Entrance at Mary Immaculate College seeks to reinforce the presence of the College within the City and welcome visitors.  The new structure was designed in a classic yet contemporary style that respects and reflects the adjoining buildings and leads to a spacious, light-filled Reception Foyer.  The building is receiving very positive feedback from students, staff and the general public.  

Read More »

Glencairn Abbey Redevelopment

Project Description St. Mary’s Abbey has been home to a monastic community of nuns since 1932.  The Abbey building and demense had previously been a family home which had merged with Ballygarron Castle which dated from 1619. The proposed works include demolition of the 1932 Dormitory Block, the 1974 North East wing, the boiler house, outbuildings on the West side of the lower courtyard and secondary buildings and sheds in the farmyard. The...

Read More »